Customer reviews for "Macdonald Elmers Court Country Club"

There are 21 reviews for this property.

Review No: 1 by Mr Avery who stayed here on 15/08/2020 Language Flag

Thank you to Carol for getting us this exchange due to a late cancellation, I did how-ever encounter some problems tying to contact E/court, I telephone & email to find out what accommodation we allocated ,Chelsea was V/g, but had to keep asking some-one else. When we arrived we found we were on the second floor, access via reception (busy) ,doors to small lift, very difficult to navigate with a lot of luggage, food etc, for a week, so I ended up carrying it all up about 40 stairs, not good having recently had a quod by-pass. I did contact the reception and asked to be moved, as it had no outside space, very hot, and quite sad. Julie ( who I had been trying to speak with before our arrival) did move us to Solent 10, Lovely, this is where we stayed some 6 years ago. I move all our stuff back down, this time using the lift as Julia open a side door and we could put our car out -side much easier !!. I did damage my back ( as Julia saw,I am still not walking well, as a result I could not play golf (clubs never came out the car). How-ever we did enjoy our stay and would return, but not to the main house, if only some-one from there picked up the phone, who could answer our questions, all of the above could have been avoided. This could have been due to Covid19 and we did get there in the end. Chelsea, Julia, Anthony and the maintenance man, I missed his name, all Very Good !!!. Thank you again Carol. Kind Regards to all and take good care. Tim & Sue Avery.

Review No: 2 by Mr Moverley who stayed here on 14/03/2020 Language Flag

A well appointed studio with a great view of the river.

Review No: 3 by Mrs Smith who stayed here on 29/02/2020 Language Flag

Excellent week in Solent View apartment. Very comfortable and clean. Excellent bed linen and towels. Well kept grounds. Staff always helpful. Made good use of swimming pool - lovely and warm - and tennis court. Lymington Pier train service is only 10 minutes walk away, ideal for going to London for the day and day trip to Portsmouth to see the Mary Rose Museum (well worth a visit). Walked into Lymington. Town well served for self-catering with a M&S Food and Waitrose. Downside was poor phone reception and £15 charge for wi-fi. It’s a shame resorts don’t have an agreement on standard free amenities - eg Wi-fi.

Review No: 4 by Mr Cooper who stayed here on 01/02/2020 Language Flag

Overall a very good holiday break. A good location from which to explore the south west Hampshire countryside and New Forest. Apartment was clean, tidy and well furnished and some lovely garden to stroll round. There is a swimming pool / leisure centre, we didn't use though it looked fine. Only drawback was the hotel lift was out of order during the week we were staying. The hotel is within a few minutes of the Isle of Wight ferry making it an additional attraction.

Review No: 5 by Mr Barltrop who stayed here on 25/01/2020 Language Flag

From check in to check out a very pleasant stay in nice surroundings. Being January comfort and warmth were a priority and we were not disappointed with the apartment. Very well equipped for self catering with quality kitchen equipment and well maintained. Furniture and fittings were of a very good quality and have been looked after. The apartment was very clean and free from clutter.

Review No: 6 by Mrs Colman who stayed here on 07/12/2019 Language Flag

Lovely apartment, totally restored my faith in DAE after a bad experience several years ago.

Review No: 7 by Mrs Dando who stayed here on 16/11/2019 Language Flag

Apartment WY11 - 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms - furnished to a high standard with a very well equipped kitchen. The only downfall is that Wifi is very poor although it costs £15 per week. We could only get online to check emails before breakfast or after 2230. We mentioned this at the Welcome Meeting - another couple said they had stayed in the adjoining apartment earlier in the year and had the same experience.

Review No: 8 by Miss Davies who stayed here on 09/11/2019 Language Flag

Just returned from an lovely week at Elmers Court. We had an excellent apartment 9 Solent View overlooking the golf pitch and putt course towards the Solent. Spacious living area, good kitchen and a large Smart tv. A large balcony to sit outside. Two bedrooms ensuite upstairs. We took advantage of the heating and wifi offer of £45 for the week since staying in November. £15 of this was for wifi but not particularly good so had to use 4G at times. However, it meant we were lovely and warm in this large apartment and did not need to worry about electricity costs. Lovely grounds. Lymington is a lovely small market town about 15 minutes walk from Elmers Court. So many places to visit in and around New Forest. Brockenhurst, a walk from Beaulieu to Bucklers Hard both of which are interesting to visit, Keyhaven Marshes to see many interesting birds and waders. Thank you to DAE for finding us this week. We definitely would like to return again soon

Review No: 9 by Mrs Wright who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

I have seen mixed reviews of Elmers Court but this might depend on your unit. We found it all excellent but then we were in Wyatt with views of Lymington Marina. The apartment was lovely and spacious with comfortable beds. In winter it’s best to ask for the advantage card which costs £45 and prepays both electricity and the £15 WiFi charge. Then you know what the costs are. Lots to do around there, try Hurst Castle, or the IOW ferry is literally on your doorstep. I have one criticism, the pool was kept at too low a temperature for leisure use. It’s ok for swimming lengths but a child can’t warm up in the sauna or steam room. Our granddaughter‘s teeth were soon chattering. It also stops you wanting to go for a swim when it’s raining and grey. How about a boost in bad weather? The outside pool was emptied for the season so that maintenance money could go inside. Perhaps men choose the temperature!

Review No: 10 by Mr Hutchinson who stayed here on 05/10/2019 Language Flag

Elmers Court is in a good situation near the estuary and the Isle of Wight ferry. We were somewhat disappointed with the apartment itself as it was in the Manor House and one of the older apartments. Although the rooms were large the furnishings and carpets are in need of refurbishment. The apartment was very clean and the bed comfortable but the second bedroom was down a rather steep flight of stairs and could be difficult if you were there with children. It was also quite small and dark and faced the carpark and was on the ground floor. We understand the more modern apartments are much better. One to enquire about if booking.

Review No: 11 by Miss Nixon who stayed here on 23/03/2019 Language Flag

As you can see by the excellent stars we found everything good at Elmers Court. I cannot judge the pool area because we didn't get down there. We had a magnificent week with excellent weather which was the icing on the cake. We would welcome the chance to go there again. Thank you.

Review No: 12 by Mrs Hannaway who stayed here on 16/03/2019 Language Flag

Compact studio - but has everything you need for a self catering break. Bedroom has a super king bed- very comfy, wardrobe, side tables and patio door. Other area has another patio door and the lounge/ dining/kitchen- is comfy for two. Massive tv! They say you can sleep 2 on the sofa bed but there’s not really any privacy( bathroom access through lounge/ kitchen). Ok if the extra guests are your own small children - not spacious enough for other adults or friends. The bathroom was new - good shower above a bath. Towels nice, so was bedding and duvet Slept well ( very quiet). Nice balcony with furniture, and views of the Solent. Quiet to sleep. Private parking allocated to unit. Very clean and well kept. Note- there is an electricity charge / care how you use!

Review No: 13 by Mr Wackett who stayed here on 23/02/2019 Language Flag

Lovely resort set in beautiful grounds; ideal location for sightseeing. We would certainly go again!

Review No: 14 by Mrs Pilkington who stayed here on 26/01/2019 Language Flag

What a lovely retreat I had at Elmers Court! The studio (Holbein Lodge 6) had all I needed and more, very comfortable with beautiful views and gardens. The wi-fi worked for me which was great and when I needed help a maintenance man appeared very quickly. It was plenty of room for me and would work well with a couple. 4 adults would need to get on quite well. Only disappointment was that the pool was very chilly (they were trying to warm it up again) which was a shame as it was a lovely pool with steam room and sauna and I would have used it more. I would also encourage Elmers Court to put more information into the room if possible as I wasn't able to make the visitors meeting. Info on the spa treatments and the hotel takeaway menu would be great. Overall it was great and I hope to go again next year if not before.

Review No: 15 by Mr & Mrs Simpson who stayed here on 26/01/2019 Language Flag

Excellent location, a few minutes from the Lymington ferry. Helpful staff allowed us to check in early (not pre booked) but a quiet time of year. Our apartment in the main house was generous in size, with a view over the grounds towards the Solient. Although some things are in need of updating, it was comfortable and clean. a disappointing shower was the only real negative. A welcoming fire in the reception area,lovely, but not in the bar ..along with no ale on draught meant we did not choose to spend our evenings there. We would, however, re visit.

Review No: 16 by Mrs Schmitz who stayed here on 17/11/2018 Language Flag

The resort is very nice and can walk to Lymington town The unit we had overlooked the car park and entrance. On Friday there was a wedding and we had to listen to foul language coming from the guests hovering by the door having a smoke and a drink before the wedding had even started. During the evening we were subjected to the same again and could barely get through them to go to the car for something we needed to do. They had overtaken all the lounge area with the lovely roaring fire we wanted to sit by and were just generally taking over the place. Whilst trying to sleep we were woken several times by again the noise and foul language. The unit itself was fine but the kitchen had seen better days. No TV in the bedrooms and the showers were pretty poor. One my husband couldn’t even stand up in because of the ceiling height. Electric was expensive

Review No: 17 by Mr Wood who stayed here on 17/11/2018 Language Flag

We stayed in Manor House 19, a ground floor 2 bedroomed apartment with 2 bathrooms overlooking the main entrance. The apartment has a double balcony which would be lovely in the Summer months but it was very cold in November. We didn’t use the spa or restaurant. There is plenty to do in the area – Whitelink Ferries to the Isle of Wight are within walking distance and Lymington Town Centre is only a short 5 minute car journey away. Buses to Bournemouth, The New Forest and surrounding areas are available from the town centre. The wi-fi reception is free and acceptable. For 6 nights in a large apartment our electricity charge of £21 was reasonable as we had the heating on automatic all the time although we didn’t do much cooking. The windows in the apartment had been updated so no draughts as per our last stay nearly 4 years ago. On the higher floors the original windows are still in situ. There is no maid service in Elmers Court apartments but you can arrange for a free towel exchange midweek if you take your used towels to the spa. We would return to Elmers Court in the Summer months depending on which accommodation we were offered.

Review No: 18 by Mr Coenders who stayed here on 06/10/2018 Language Flag

If you enter the house you experience an unpleasant unfresh smell, which does not disappear when you open all window and doors. This is about the only negative point we have to mention.

Review No: 19 by Mrs Kershaw who stayed here on 15/09/2018 Language Flag

We had a lovely week at this resort. The outdoor pool was very refreshing. We didn't use the bar or restaurant so can not comment on them. We ate at the Ferryman pub 10 mins walk away, the food was excellent. We also ate in Lymington sometimes walking in 20 mins or train 1 stop 5 min walk and 2 min journey. There are many eating places and all those we went to were good. A day trip to Portsmouth naval museum was very good. Great costal walk to Keyhaven. The squash court, indoor pool and steam room were also good. I would go again.

Review No: 20 by Mrs Chrimes who stayed here on 18/08/2018 Language Flag

The apartment was very dated and tired and in need of refurbishment. I believe the apartments in The Manor when we stayed are in the ongoing plan to update.....very much needed. The gardens are lovely and beautifully maintained.

Review No: 21 by Mr Powell who stayed here on 23/06/2018 Language Flag

Excellent resort Fantastic location Apartment excellent but could do with some maintenance
Please Wait
Please Wait